Reflections of a Disengager

Michael Oren, a senior fellow at the Shalem Center, was among the soldiers carrying out the disengagement these past weeks. He recounts:

In a few hours, I would leave my historian’s job and report for reserve service as a major in the army spokesman’s office. My feelings were, at best, ambivalent. I wanted to end Israel’s occupation of Gaza’s 1.4 million Palestinians and preserve Israel’s Jewish majority, but feared abetting the terrorists’ claim that Israel had fled under fire. I wanted the state to have borders that all Israelis could defend, but balked at returning to the indefensible pre-1967 borders. I honored my duty as a soldier in the Israel Defense Forces, but wondered whether I could drag other Israelis from their homes or, if they shot at me, shoot back.

Read the whole thing.

Comments Off on Reflections of a Disengager

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.