Happy New Year 5765

One funny thing that always struck me was how Rosh HaShana, what we call the Jewish New Year, is no more than one of the many times in the Jewish cycle of time during which time is renewed.
Which made me think–if there are so many opportunities to start a new year, what does that say about time itself?
I think–and correct me if I’m wrong–that what can be learned from the multiple celebrations of renewal in the Jewish calendar is that, well, every day can be a new year. Every instant is a new instant. Every breath is a new breath.
Rosh HaShana, then, is the a chance to celebrate all of these changes at once–to bless the Eternal, the singular plural of totality, for giving us the ability to witness each and every change, for giving us the ability to experience anything at all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.